Skip to main navigation.

Board of Directors, Minutes & By-Laws

Director Candidate Filing open thru February 19, 2018. Call 800.450.2191 for more infoFrom the Board Room

The regular meeting of the Board of Directors of the Mille Lacs Energy Cooperative was held at its office in Aitkin, Minnesota, on December 15, 2017.  All board members were present. President Harold Harms called the meeting to order at 8:50 a.m.

Routine business included approval of the November minutes and manager and directors’ expense vouchers. Routine reports included team reports, an update on the general manager’s activities since last month, the monthly safety meeting and accident and mileage report.  Great River Energy, Minnesota Rural Electric Association and Balancing Natural Resource Opportunities reports were presented. A summary of the Capital Credit Retirement was reviewed, as was a reply letter from Connexus Energy regarding their battery project.

In other action:

  • Approved the re-appointment of Loren Larson, District 3, Pat Scollard, District 4, and Diane Landstad, District 5 to Mille Lacs Community Trust Board of Directors as recommended by the Trust Board of Directors.
  • Approved holding the 2018 Annual Meeting on Thursday, April 19, 2018 at location to be determined by the Annual Meeting Committee and Management Team.
  • Approved work orders for October.
  • Approved write-offs for the month.
  • Approved 5% be used for the discount rate in 2018 for estate and write-offs of capital credits.
  • Approved no banking changes be made at this time for 2018.
  • Approved the 2018 budget as presented.
  • Confirmed meetings, including the regular board meeting dates of January 19th, February 16th, and March 23rd.    

Board went into Executive Session at 12:30 p.m., came back to regular meeting at 1:25 p.m.

Approved a change in Policy 103 Director Eligibility Qualifications, # 10 and 11 under III Provisions from 5 years to 10 years.

Meeting adjourned at 1:30 p.m.

Click here for the MLEC Local Democracy Resolution

The Cooperative is divided into seven districts.  Each is represented by one member of that district on the Board of Directors.  Director candidates are solicited from within each district though an open filing process. Directors are elected by those members present at the Annual Meeting and by mail ballot.  They are elected for three-year terms. The Board members set the policies by which the Cooperative operates, and they hire a general manager.  They meet monthly, normally the third Friday.


Barbara Welty

46393 Earle Brown Dr, Garrison MN 56450 - phone: 320-692-4800

District 1 shall be comprised of the City of Onamia and the following Townships in Mille Lacs County:  North Kathio, South Kathio, South Harbor, Onamia, Bradbury, and Dailey, and the following in Crow Wing County:  Roosevelt.


William "Bill" Bernard

27847 Ak Sar Ben Ln, Aitkin MN 56431 - phone: 218-678-3911

District 2 shall be comprised of the following Townships in Crow Wing County:  Rabbit Lake, Deerwood, Bay Lake, Nokay Lake.


Harold Harms

26818 170th St, McGrath MN 56350 - phone: 320-684-9955

District 3 shall be comprised of the City of Garrison and the following Townships in Aitkin County:  Lakeside, Idun, Seavey; and the following in Mille Lacs County; Eastside; and the following in Crow Wing County:  Garrison.

Aileen DeMenge

26205 State Hwy 210, McGregor MN 55760 - phone: 218-768-4900

District 4 shall be comprised of the City of McGregor and the following Townships in Aitkin County:  Jevne, McGregor, Spalding, Davidson, Kimberly, Spencer, Aitkin, Lee, Rice River, and Workman.


Don Appel

34057 Dove St, Aitkin MN 56431 - phone: 218-927-4134

District 5 shall be comprised of the following Townships in Aitkin County:  Nordland, Glen, Jewett, Malmo.

Bruce Robinson

35651 464th Ln, Palisade MN 56469 - phone: 218-845-2736

District 6 shall be comprised of the City of Palisade and the following Townships in Aitkin County:  Verdon, Unorganized T51-R25, White Elk, Bain, Hebron, Libby, Logan, Waukenabo, Esquagamah, Unorganized T48-R27, Morrison, and Fleming; and the following in Crow Wing County:  Ross Lake, Fairfield, Dean Lake.


Michael W Reem

23937 435th Ave, Aitkin MN 56431 - phone: 218-678-2961

District 7 shall be comprised of the following Townships in Aitkin County:  Farm Island, Wealthwood, Hazelton.

Brian Zelenak

PO Box 230, Aitkin MN 56431

phone: 218-927-8224

Click for Legislative Alerts and Updates affecting Electric Coops

Articles and Bylaws of Mille Lacs Energy Cooperative

Get a copy of the MLEC Articles and ByLaws here.

2016 MLEC Financial Information

Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo